In a New World

I will never understand how it happened but all I can remember is I was leaving home to go to a dance with my fiancé,  family, and friends.  After that I found myself laying in a field full of soft grass and flowers. I was scared and confused. My evening was going to be wonderful and full of memories and I had no idea how I got here. And, on top of that I had spent so much money and time in getting my dress and doing my hair for the ball.

My first thought was that the others had left me behind. I know they had all shared tea with me and maybe it was their plan to give me a sedative and leave me behind. But, of course I brushed that idea aside knowing that we had been close for years. And, I knew for a fact that they did not do that when I stood up and all of the beautiful light pink flowers began to glow and then flew into the air. This frightened me greatly and I had no idea what I should do or where I should go. My only concern was if in this new world flowers could fly then what could animals like wolves, bears, and snakes do?

As I was pondering what to do next one of the flowers flew up to me and spoke. I felt like I was going to faint! This was all too much for me to take in. I knew I was in some sort of fairy tale world like what children would read about but how and why was I here? This “fairy” told me that she had prepared a place for me to live and that she was so glad I was finally here. I asked what she meant by “finally” but she started to fly off. I didn’t know what else to do but to follow her.

She brought me to some sort of cottage in the woods where everything seemed to glow with bright shining colors. She told me to make myself at home and she would explain everything in the morning. I was far from tired so I decided to explore my new home (as this is where I new I would stay until I found my way back to where I came from). Inside there was several quaint rooms including a bedroom, kitchen, and a dining room. Of course I later found out that unfortunately wherever this place was they had not invented the bathroom yet and I only had an outhouse.  The home would serve me nicely for the night because tomorrow I was going to get back home.

In the morning the “fairy” showed up bright and early. We sat in the bedroom and I was prepared to hear exactly how I got here. Of course, the first thing she said was she didn’t know how I got here but she was glad I was because the fairies had a prophecy that said thier new ruler would arrive suddenly in a field when they were all gathered there. I didn’t know what to say. I was stunned and sure that I wasn’t this “ruler”. I told  her to take me back and she said she couldn’t nor would she want to.

Apparently, the fairies last ruler died years ago and they had wanted another but none were worthy. So I was chosen by their last ruler on her death-bed and some how I was taken here.

The fairy was so kind to me and seemed so desperate. I told her I would be their “ruler” but only until I found a way home.

To this day I am still in this “fairy tale” land. I rule the fairies and I probably always will. They all adore me and I do not have to do anything for them. I tried for years to find a way home. I will always miss my dear David and my family. But, I will never give up trying to get back home.

Fifteen years later as the ruler I declared that all the fairies should find a way for me to travel in-between worlds. And only just yesterday did my dear fairy friend say she may have found a way.  I will finally after all these years go home.

 

8 thoughts on “In a New World

Leave a Reply

